IICD Craft Design Awards 2024

IICD Craft Design Awards 2024


IICD instituted the annual ‘Craft Design Awards’ in the year 2020, to commemorate the 25 year of its existence and in the memory of people who were the leaders to initiate craft & design development and education in India. This is to pay tribute to the stalwarts of the country who have done exemplary work in the craft sector and name the awards after them.

Award Categories

S.No. Award Category Description / Evaluation Criteria Who should apply?
1 Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay Award for ‘Social Impact in the Craft Sector’

Recognizes the person / persons/ organizations who have done exemplary work for the development of the craft, craft sector and craft community by impacting life, increasing livelihood, creating social upliftment and or any other action through which social impact has been made in the country.

  1. The depth and width of impact
  2. Revival / reform / upliftment of crafts and community
  3. Capacity building and livelihood generation
  • Individuals (Craftsperson/Designers/Design Managers/Entrepreneurs)
  • Organizations
2 Pupul Jayakar Award for ‘Craft Entrepreneurship’

Recognizes an enterprise / entrepreneur of the craft sector which has brought about economic transformation impacting society and environment.

  1. Economic transformation in craft sector through the enterprise.
  2. Enterprise having scaling up capacity to create maximum impact on the craft and communities.
  3. The enterprise being sustainable with reduced or zero carbon footprints.
  • Individuals (Entrepreneurs)
  • Organizations
3 Suresh Neotia Award for ‘New Generation Crafts Person’

Recognizes a young crafts person who has done commendable work in carrying forward a traditional craft or revived a craft or developed a new craft which has made a difference to the craft sector in general affecting life of communities

  1. A young generation crafts person (upper age limit is 30 years during the time of applying).
  2. Anyone from traditional craft family taking his / her craft forward
  3. A young new person carrying forward a traditional craft
  • Individuals (Craftsperson/ /Craft Entrepreneurs)
4 Kripal Singh Shekhawat Award for ‘Innovation in Craft Design’

Recognizes any person / organization who has innovated and has come up with new technique, technology, process, product, material or through any other creative act which has made a difference in the craft sector affecting livelihood and life of people in the country

  1. Creation of new material, technique and process in craft
  2. Creation of path breaking product development in craft
  3. Innovation to encourage sustainability in craft and community
  • Individuals (Craftsperson/Designers/Design Managers/Entrepreneurs)
  • Organizations
5 M.P. Ranjan Award for contribution in ‘Craft Design Education’

Recognizes person / persons / organization who have impacted the craft sector through education of artisans or other persons who thereby create change in the craft scenario changing the perspective and bringing about progressive change in the country.

  1. Contributed through education to create maximum reach and impact to craft and craft persons.
  2. Educate / train craft persons to bring about change in their craft, livelihood and overall life.
  3. Through education made an impact on the craft community by creating students who worked towards upliftment of craft sector.
  • Individuals (Craftsperson/Designers/Design Managers/Entrepreneurs)
  • Organizations
The award carries a cash prize of Rs.21,000/-, a trophy and a certificate.

If you think that you are worthy of any of the above mentioned awards


If you know someone who you think is worthy of any of the above mentioned awards (you can nominate a person for the award)

Please fill up the form using the Google Form Link

For any further queries, please contact
Email: kingshuk@iicd.ac.in
Contact number: 9680692353

Pay Fee